Field Trials Help Deliver The Right Plant For Every Customer [Opinion]

Allan Armitage
Allan Armitage

First things first. Dr. Allan Armitage has retired, but he isn’t going anywhere. You’ll continue to see him in the pages of Greenhouse Grower each month, in videos on GreenhouseGrower.com and traveling with our editors at events throughout the year. His expertise, opinions and decades of experience with the plants you all grow make him too valuable a resource to let him ride off into the sunset that easily.

As of this past summer, however, Dr. A is officially retired as a professor at the University of Georgia (UGA). We thought it would be particularly fitting to pay tribute to his career this month in our issue devoted to the results from 2013 field trials all over the country. His mission over the last 30 years and the mission of all of these trials is ultimately the same: helping you get the right plant into the hands of every consumer.

If you’ve read even one of his columns or heard him speak at an event, you know Allan understands that growers must keep a keen eye on every detail that goes into efficient production of quality plants. But, as he’ll readily point out, none of that really matters if there’s no one to buy them.

His measuring stick is always his daughters: two women who don’t necessarily share his deep knowledge of horticulture, but just want to enjoy flowers and plants. How do we find the right plants for them to enjoy all summer long in their backyard beds, or in a fun container on the deck or in the kitchen?

As a true scientist, his answer is, let’s test them and see how they perform. And that’s what he’s done, starting the Trial Gardens at the University of Georgia with Dr. Michael Dirr in 1982 and continuing to today. The gardens have provided a great way to observe performance throughout the harsh Georgia growing season, as well as to get feedback on which plants consumers really like when the trials are opened up to the public each summer.

Like Dr. Armitage, we believe trialing is critical to the future of our industry. Not just trial beds, but container and basket trials, too. As we strive to meet the evolving needs and desires of our new (and existing) consumer customers, it’s more important now than ever. We must make sure we are offering not only the plants that will perform well for consumers in a given region, but also the plants that appeal to them.

The University of Georgia Trial Gardens are in good hands under the leadership of  Dr. John Ruter and will continue, even after the retirement of Dr. Armitage. It’s great to see that commitment from UGA. But it’s a commitment we need to continue to see from universities, breeders, growers, botanical gardens and organizations like All-America Selections. Finding the right plants that will make consumers happy and keep them coming back for more is the benefit of having trials like these — and it’s the benefit of having people like Allan Armitage.

Topics: ,

Leave a Reply

More From Grow Initiative...
Dramm-Echter-Pink-Gerbera-Daisies

November 22, 2016

Dramm & Echter Donates Pink Gerbera Daisies During Susan G. Komen San Diego 3-Day Event

“As a local flower farm, we are honored to show our support by sharing symbolic pink flowers with each participant as they reach the midway point on their amazing journey,” says Bob Echter, Owner of Dramm & Echter.

Read More
deming-pdsa-cycle

November 21, 2016

How The PDSA Cycle Can Help You Improve Your Business

No successful business stays stagnant, which means you should constantly be looking for ways to make improvements to your business and your products. Are you looking for a good model to follow? Try the PDSA Cycle.

Read More
afe-fundraising-dinner

November 17, 2016

AFE Fundraising Dinner Celebrates Success, Raises Almost $20,000

The American Floral Endowment’s biggest fundraising event of the year, the 2016 Annual Fundraising Dinner, did more than just honor industry champions. It also raised nearly $20,000 for the future of floriculture programs.

Read More
Latest Stories
Dramm-Echter-Pink-Gerbera-Daisies

November 22, 2016

Dramm & Echter Donates Pink Gerbera Daisies During …

“As a local flower farm, we are honored to show our support by sharing symbolic pink flowers with each participant as they reach the midway point on their amazing journey,” says Bob Echter, Owner of Dramm & Echter.

Read More
deming-pdsa-cycle

November 21, 2016

How The PDSA Cycle Can Help You Improve Your Business

No successful business stays stagnant, which means you should constantly be looking for ways to make improvements to your business and your products. Are you looking for a good model to follow? Try the PDSA Cycle.

Read More
afe-fundraising-dinner

November 17, 2016

AFE Fundraising Dinner Celebrates Success, Raises Almos…

The American Floral Endowment’s biggest fundraising event of the year, the 2016 Annual Fundraising Dinner, did more than just honor industry champions. It also raised nearly $20,000 for the future of floriculture programs.

Read More
hoffman-nursery-owners

November 9, 2016

How Hoffman Nursery Invests In The Future Of The Greenh…

Hoffman Nursery believes in the future leaders of horticulture, and the operation invests in several programs to cultivate young people in their careers.

Read More
2015 GROW Summit_discussion shot

October 28, 2016

How We Can Inspire Millennials To Get Involved In Horti…

By uniting our efforts, we can attract new generations of growers and consumers to the horticulture industry, starting when they are young.

Read More
green-plan-it-gardening-outdoor-nature-explore-classroom

October 22, 2016

Here’s A Great Way To Bring Horticulture And Scho…

The Green Plan It Challenge gives school students in the U.K. the opportunity to participate in a 10-week project where they rethink the role of green space and develop solutions to horticulture-related problems.

Read More
Albert Grimm, Jefferys Greenhouses

October 19, 2016

How Jeffery’s Greenhouse Is Investing In The Indu…

Greenhouse Grower reached out to Albert Grimm, the 2016 Head Grower of the Year and Head Grower of Jeffery’s Greenhouse, to ask what he and his company have done in the last 12 months to invest in the industry. Here is what he had to say.

Read More
Dallas Johnson Greenhouses has significantly reduced the amount of time and labor spent pulling and processing orders, while improving plant quality at retail

October 1, 2016

Political Stalemate On Labor Means Your Opportunity To …

Despite the frustrating nature of our current political climate, now may be the best time for you to address your long-term labor and automation needs.

Read More
Vogel Alcove NGB Therapeutic Grant Winner

September 27, 2016

National Garden Bureau Announces Horticulture Therapy G…

The NGB’s annual grant program, Growing for Futures, recently selected three therapeutic gardens that will receive grants totaling $5,000.

Read More
customer-base

September 21, 2016

6 Creative Ways To Expand Your Business

Marketing experts offer tips to help you catch the attention of new customers and grow your business.

Read More
America In Bloom Project

August 29, 2016

Your Chance To Help America In Bloom As It Celebrates I…

America In Bloom is launching a fundraising campaign to help the group continue its mission of creating beautiful and vibrant communities across the country.

Read More
Next Generation

August 27, 2016

Australia Launches Initiative To Ignite A New Generatio…

Hort Innovation Chief Executive John Lloyd says the goal is to identify and build future industry leaders at all stages of their career through investment in a host of new initiatives.

Read More
Albert Grimm, Jefferys Greenhouses

August 25, 2016

7 Ways Albert Grimm Strives To Be An Effective Leader

Grimm, Greenhouse Grower's 2016 Head Grower Of The Year, tries to live by the "Seven Habits Of Highly Effective People” from author Stephen R. Covey.

Read More
LuxFlora - feature

August 22, 2016

Check Out Luxflora’s International Adventures In Europe

A new, women-led professional organization provides its members the opportunity to gain insight, develop ideas, and build connections on its annual international trip.

Read More
Echinacea ‘Butterfly Rainbow Marcella’

August 12, 2016

IR-4 Project Receives Federal Funding For Pollinator An…

Grants from the Specialty Crop Research Initiative will fund IR-4 projects on protecting pollinators through ornamental horticulture, and downy mildew management strategies.

Read More
Emily Teng

August 11, 2016

American Floral Endowment Announces Its 2016 Scholarshi…

This year, thanks to the generosity of several donors, AFE awarded more than $35,000 to 17 students pursuing careers in horticulture.

Read More
Josh Henry, North Carolina State University

August 8, 2016

Get To Know Joshua Henry, Winner Of The 2016 Richard T.…

Henry, a graduate student at North Carolina State University, is pursuing a Master’s degree in horticultural sciences, with a focus on crop nutrition in bedding plants and flowering potted plants.

Read More
Workers

July 23, 2016

5 Reasons To Invest In Employee Training

Training and developing your employees is critical to the future success of your organization and the horticulture industry at large. Here are five reasons why your employees are worth the effort.

Read More
[gravityform id="35" title="false" description="false"]