Horticultural Research Institute Names Scholarship Recipients

The Horticultural Research Institute, the research division of the American Nursery & Landscape Association, recently granted 2008 scholarship awards to a handful of exceptional students interested in pursuing careers in our industry.

Gerrit Shuffstall, a full-time graduate student of landscape architecture at Morgan State University in Baltimore, was awarded the Carville M. Akehurst Memorial Scholarship of $4,000. Shuffstall is interested in urban design and soil sciences.

Amanda Rose, a senior environmental horticulture major at California Polytechnic State University in San Louis Obispo, received the Usrey Family Memorial Scholarship of $1,500. She would like to earn a teaching credential in high school agricultural education.

Kaythryn Sanford is the recipient of the Muggets Scholarship of $1,500. An informal group called the Mugget Growers of America (MGA) meet each year at the ANLA Management Clinic to discuss important plant issues while contributing to the Muggets scholarship fund.

Kayla Harrison, a senior horticultural student at the University of Rhode Island, earned the Timothy S. and Palmer W. Bigelow Jr. Scholarship of $2,500. Harrison would like to work in a greenhouse or wholesale business after graduation.

Leave a Reply