Bob Dolibois, GROW And Change For The Better [Opinion]

Richard Jones

When we came up with the plan for Greenhouse Grower’s GROW Summit in the summer of 2011, American Nursery & Landscape Association Executive Vice President Bob Dolibois was one of the first people we invited. And he was the first to accept.

The mission of the GROW Summit — generating actionable ideas to help get the greenhouse business growing again — is right up Dolibois’ alley. After two decades as the head of one of the industry’s leading trade organizations, he’s seen just about everything. More importantly, he’s not shy about asking a question when it needs to be asked or expressing an opinion when it needs to be expressed.

A little more than a year later, we’re talking with Dolibois again, this time for December’s cover story. The time seemed right for a couple of reasons.

For one, Greenhouse Grower is wrapping up a successful first year of GROW. We are building on the ideas from Dolibois and the other GROW Summit participants to take the program to another level with our GROW Partners program. You’ll read about that, along with many of 2012’s highlights in our first GROW Annual Report in this issue.

The bigger reason, however, is timing. Dolibois is retiring at the end of December, coinciding with the upcoming consolidation of ANLA and OFA. Our discussion was an excellent opportunity to step back and reflect on what has been a meaningful career serving our industry.

But we also wanted to tap into those 21 years of experience at ANLA. The focus of our interview was his perspective on what it will take to guide floriculture toward a more profitable future.

Many of the points Dolibois discusses in this month’s cover story were also important topics at the GROW Summit:

• The need to acknowledge that the world has changed around us and that we need to be changing along with it.

• Focusing less on shaving costs and more on creating value for our products.

• And the necessity for the different segments in our industry — large growers, small growers, big box retailers, independent garden centers, suppliers, and yes, trade associations — to see ourselves less as independent, competing factions. Our collective goal should be to raise the value of floriculture in the minds of the consumer.

The merger of two of our biggest trade associations is a logical and necessary next step in that direction. It will lead to a more efficient use of resources, both in stimulating the market for plants and in serving as an even stronger advocate for the grower. And it serves as an example of how organizations can work together to benefit everyone.

Take a few minutes and read Dolibois’ thoughts on the future of our industry. You may not agree with everything he has to say. But it’s hard to deny that our industry isn’t better off when people are asking the questions that need to be asked and expressing the opinions that need to be expressed.

Leave a Reply

More From Grow Initiative...
Steve Garvey, Dallas Johnson Greenhouses

June 27, 2017

Steve Garvey is a Finalist for the 2017 Head Grower of the Year Award

Winner of the Excellence in Quality Award, Steve Garvey has become relentless in looking for the next new thing to improve quality in every aspect of production, from growing to shipping to marketing.

Read More
cuttings-facility

June 27, 2017

New Pilot Project for Offshore Unrooted Plant Cutting Certification to Launch in October

Four breeders — Ball Horticultural Co., Dümmen Orange, Proven Winners, and Syngenta Flowers — will participate in the initial pilot, which will include greenhouse growing operations in six Latin American countries.

Read More
Metrolina Greenhouses Dig and Swig Event

June 25, 2017

Consumers Revel in Gardening at Metrolina Greenhouses’ Dig & Swig Events

Metrolina wanted to promote plants, gardening, and creating a sense of community, so it decided to host Dig & Swig events at a local brewery.

Read More
Latest Stories
Metrolina Greenhouses Dig and Swig Event

June 25, 2017

Consumers Revel in Gardening at Metrolina Greenhouses’ …

Metrolina wanted to promote plants, gardening, and creating a sense of community, so it decided to host Dig & Swig events at a local brewery.

Read More

May 23, 2017

6 Simple Ways to Acquire New Customers

Even the most successful brands need new customers if they want to grow their business, or stay profitable.

Read More
Tyler Beasley

May 21, 2017

Final California Spring Trials Thoughts From Allan Armi…

“I went home from California Spring Trials realizing that the students enrolled in our Greenhouse Management program at Spokane Community College need to experience the trials. Attending opened many doors of opportunity for me.”

Read More
Cannabis Adobe Stock feature

May 1, 2017

Why I Turned Down a High-Paying Offer to Grow Cannabis …

Young growers have passion for all aspects of organic and sustainable growing. The key to not losing them to the cannabis industry, according to Kelly Vance, a Technical Consultant for Beneficial Insectary, may be nurturing their interests in these fields by aligning greenhouse production with sustainable growing practices.

Read More
National Collegiate Landscape Competition Feature

April 27, 2017

Hoffman Nursery Cheers On the Next Generation of Hortic…

Hoffman Nursery was a sponsor of the recent 41st National Collegiate Landscape Competition, an event that offers several opportunities for companies in the green industry to meet and recruit the next-generation of horticulturists.

Read More
Kaylee South

April 22, 2017

American Floral Endowment Announces Winners of 2017 Pau…

Four students pursuing careers in horticulture now have scholarships to help them along the way, thanks to the American Floral Endowment.

Read More
Basil Planting feature

March 29, 2017

How You Can Embrace Greenhouse Food Production With Con…

Maintaining balance, learning continuously, and seeking support will help make your transition into producing greenhouse food crops a smooth one.

Read More
If your Wi-Fi is truly secure, your staff can help customers on the sales floor starting today

March 25, 2017

What Marketing Approach Can Attracts the Most Customers…

Inc.com surveyed more than a thousand customers to find out which marketing strategies worked best to entice them to try out a new business

Read More
Greenhouse Loyal Customer

March 16, 2017

How Brand Enthusiasts Can Be Your Most Loyal Customers

A marketing expert shares three core principles that direct-to-consumer companies can follow to create brand enthusiasts.

Read More

February 17, 2017

How to Keep Customers Coming Back With Top-Notch Servic…

A recent article on Forbes.com outlines seven ways organizations can take their customer service from good to great and beyond.

Read More

January 27, 2017

Why Greenhouse Growers Must Know Their Costs to Stay Co…

Tom Dudek, Senior Educator at Michigan State University Extension, says greenhouse growers should evaluate their production costs to determine if they need to make adjustments to stay competitive.

Read More
Workplace Trends

January 20, 2017

10 Trends Predicted to Impact the Workplace in 2017

Here are 10 workplace trends that Forbes contributor Dan Schawbel predicts for 2017 that may change the way you do business in the future

Read More

January 10, 2017

Sidney B. Meadows Scholarship Endowment Fund Accepting …

The deadline for applications is May 26, and 12 scholarships of $1,500 each will be awarded at the SEGreen Conference in August.

Read More
GROW Logo

December 28, 2016

Greenhouse Grower’s GROW Initiative: A Year In Review

Staying ahead of the competition in today’s world is about remaining in constant motion with innovation. To create a competitive advantage, you must consistently experiment with and learn from new ideas. Greenhouse Grower’s GROW initiative provided cutting-edge ideas and actionable advice.

Read More
Grow Summit 2016 group shot

December 20, 2016

Less Talk, More Action At Greenhouse Grower’s GRO…

Investing in technology, developing new marketing solutions, and recruiting young growers were just a few of the issues covered at GROW Summit 2016.

Read More
Dramm-Echter-Pink-Gerbera-Daisies

November 22, 2016

Dramm & Echter Donates Pink Gerbera Daisies During …

“As a local flower farm, we are honored to show our support by sharing symbolic pink flowers with each participant as they reach the midway point on their amazing journey,” says Bob Echter, Owner of Dramm & Echter.

Read More
deming-pdsa-cycle

November 21, 2016

How The PDSA Cycle Can Help You Improve Your Business

No successful business stays stagnant, which means you should constantly be looking for ways to make improvements to your business and your products. Are you looking for a good model to follow? Try the PDSA Cycle.

Read More
afe-fundraising-dinner

November 17, 2016

AFE Fundraising Dinner Celebrates Success, Raises Almos…

The American Floral Endowment’s biggest fundraising event of the year, the 2016 Annual Fundraising Dinner, did more than just honor industry champions. It also raised nearly $20,000 for the future of floriculture programs.

Read More