Dazzling Debuts

Each April, California’s U.S. Highway 101 becomes the runway for the launch of new annuals and perennials. From Gilroy in the north and then south to the Los Angeles/Ventura area, the journey continues down I-5 to Encinitas. In addition to flower breeders and propagators that are already based in California, others will come from as far as Japan, Israel, Germany, Holland and the United Kingdom to showcase their new offerings, April 14-22.

Greenheart Farms in Arroyo Grande will be an expanded destination with new exhibitors: Dümmen USA, Sahin, ITML and The John Henry Co. In response to the well-received seed versus vegetative comparisons last year, The Plug Connection in Vista will add vegetative versus vegetative comparisons in lantana, nemesia, New Guinea impatiens and broadleaf verbena.

Below is an alphabetical list of participants. If you’re planning to attend the trials, please schedule appointments at each location in advance. If not, stay tuned for Greenhouse Grower’s Online Pack Trials coverage beginning Monday, April 16 on www.greenhousegrower.com or watch for our June issue for complete coverage.

■ AMERICAN TAKII
301 Natividad Rd., Salinas, CA
April 15-22
Contact: Julia Paul, 831-443-4901, Ext. 36
jpaul@takii.com

■ BALL FLORAPLANT
Arroyo Grande, CA
BY INVITATION ONLY 

■ BENARY
1200 Via Regina, Santa Barbara, CA
(at Imagination Canyon Greenhouse)
April 14-20
Contact: Jessica DeGraaf, 616-464-0605
JDeGraaf@benary.com 

■ BODGER SEEDS/BOTANICALS
1851 W. Olive St., Lompoc, CA
April 16-20
Contact: Sylvia Pardo, 626-442-6161
spardo@bodger.com 

■ BOOMAN FLORAL
2302 Bautista Ave., Vista, CA
Dates to be determined
Contact: Jen Sullivan, 760-630-4170
jen@boomanfloral.com 

■ DANZIGER "DAN" FLOWER FARM
4860 Monterey Rd., Gilroy, CA
(at Headstart Nursery)
April 15-22
Contact: Reese Kiikka, 440-357-6280
Brplants-n-seeds@msn.com

■ FIDES NORTH AMERICA
15245 Telegraph Rd., Santa Paula, CA
April 15-20
Contact: Diana Dickenson, 805-525-7125
d.dickenson@fidesnorthamerica.com 

■ FLORANOVA
222 North A Street, Lompoc, CA
April 16-20
Contact: Shannon Neal, 574-243-8100
sneal@floranova.com 

■ GOLDEN STATE BULB GROWERS
1260 Hwy. 1, Watsonville, CA
April 14-20
Contact: Sandra Cortez, 831-728-0500
info@goldenstatebulb.com 

■ GOLDSMITH SEEDS/FISCHER USA
2280 Hecker Pass Hwy., Gilroy, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Keysha Weintz, 408-847-7333
keysha@goldsmithseeds.com 

■ GREENHEART FARMS
902 Zenon Way, Arroyo Grande, CA
(also includes Dümmen USA, Sahin, 
ITML and The John Henry Company)
April 16-21
Contact: Karen Franck, 805-481-2234, Ext. 20
karenk@greenheartfarms.com 

■ GROLINK
4107 W. Gonzales Rd., Oxnard, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Paul Gaydos, paul@grolink.com 

■ HENRY F. MICHELL CO.
2640 San Juan Highway,
San Juan Bautista, CA
(at Speedling, includes Farmen,
Global Flowers, Hem Genetics
GGG-Gruenewald and Murakami Seed)
April 14-20
Contact: Maria Guertler, 800-422-4678
mguertler@michells.com 

■ KIEFT SEEDS
270 Rucker Ave., Gilroy, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Jeff McGrew, 360-445-2031
jmcgrew@sos.net

■ ORO FARMS
4860 Monterey Rd., Gilroy, CA
(at Headstart Nursery)
April 14-20
Contact: Tammy Ozuna, 315-635-2531
tammy@orofarms.com 

■ PACIFIC PLUG & LINER
750 Casserly Rd., Watsonville, CA
(also includes Agrexco, Hishtil, Cohen, Jaldety and Schwartz)
Contact: Jennifer (Leggett) Swart
831-722-5396, Ext. 205
Jennifer_Leggett@PPandL.net 

■ PANAMERICAN SEED
355 S. Briggs Rd., Santa Paula, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Mary Long, 630-588-3187
mlong@panamseed.com 

■ PAUL ECKE RANCH
800 Ecke Ranch Rd., Encinitas, CA
April 14-21
TRIALS CLOSED — CUSTOMERS ONLY 

■ PLANTHAVEN, INC.
3376 Foothill Rd., Carpinteria, CA
(at Island View Nursery)
April 16-21
Contact: Margaret Pryde, 805-569-9179
margaret.pryde@planthaven.com 

■ THE PLUG CONNECTION
2627 Ramona Drive, Vista, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Lisa Finnegan
760-631-0992, Ext. 118
lisa@plugconnection.com 

■ PROVEN WINNERS
3219 Aqueduct Rd., Bonsall, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Kerry Strope Meyer, 573-477-9420
kerry@provenwinners.com 

■ S&G FLOWERS
7240 Holsclaw Rd., Gilroy, CA
April 15-21
Contact: Ashley Dekker, 800-454-8159
Ashley.Dekker@syngenta.com 

■ SAKATA SEED AMERICA
103 Boronda Rd., Salinas, CA
April 16-17, 20-22
Contact: Nicole Naragon, 260-672-3820
nnaragon@sakata.com 

■ SELECTA FIRST CLASS INC.
1150 Quail Gardens Drive, Encinitas, CA
April 14-22
Contact: Angela Storm, 410-798-7731
a.storm@firstclassplants.com 

■ SUNTORY/JACKSON & PERKINS
6500 Donlon Rd., Somis, CA
April 14-21
Contact: Sharleen Webster, 800-877-6737
swebster@bco.com

Leave a Reply