Taking The Guesswork From Gardening [Opinion]

In my previous job as horticulturist at the Cleveland Botanical Garden, one of my responsibilities was to answer the “Horticulture Hotline.” Members and the public could call in several days per week with their gardening questions. It was a free service, and in the spring and summer I answered an average of 30 to 40 questions per day. People asked why there were brown spots in their lawn, why the wisteria hadn’t bloomed, how to save dahlias over the winter, what that disgusting green caterpillar was on their tomatoes, how to save seed from jack-in-the-pulpit, and what could they spray to keep the Japanese beetles off their roses. I never knew what questions the day would bring (sometimes it brought obscure questions on sedges or South African native plants from co-workers calling from another extension trying to stump me).

Even now, at parties the hostess often steers me out to the garden or landscape beds to have me help her figure out what to plant and diagnose problems. No doubt you have had the same experience when people find out what you do for a living. We, as an industry, worry about a waning interest in gardening. But my experience tells me otherwise. People still love plants. I believe we are programmed as a species to love plants. People want to garden, and they’re hungry for knowledge. But they’re intimidated. They’re afraid of spending their hard-earned money on something they don’t know how to grow.

A few months ago, I interviewed Joe Gray, senior vice president of Hines Nursery. During our conversation, he said, “I travel a lot, and when I’m asked, ‘What do you do?’ people respond, ‘Oh, I’m a terrible gardener,’ or ‘I have a black thumb.’ They say it’s too complicated; there are all these steps, and it’s just too much.”

Gray says, “We as an industry make it complicated for the consumer. We need to simplify it for them so it’s easier.”

It’s an opinion I’ve heard echoed by industry leaders. The effort to produce low-maintenance, high-quality plants has been underway for a long time. But now the focus is widening. Real efforts are being made to help consumers feel confident that what they buy will succeed.

HGTV has already proven this works with its line of paints, which are grouped and color-coordinated so no matter what the customer chooses, it will look good. They’re doing it with a new line of plants too. These pre-selected plant combinations that work well together, both in color and in culture. “They are designed to grow well, show well and go home well together, says Randy Hunter, CEO of Agricola Management Group, which is marketing the HGTV line of plants.

Burpee has an app, My Garden Designer, that allows consumers to match plants together right in the store. They can scan a QR code with their phone and see what will go well with it, or look up “recipes” others have suggested. Proven Winners has long worked with retailers to group plants together in POP displays that attract attention and eliminate guesswork. There still may be a place where traditional displays of plants in alphabetical order by category make sense, but if we’re going to make it simple, easy and uncomplicated for the plant novice we have to think out of the box.

“Educating consumers is the retailer’s job,” you might say. And traditionally it has been. However, more than ever before we’re working with a population with less discretionary spending and less time, but conversely, one that is used to instant gratification. Many retailers are asking for marketing help. Get together with your customers to find out how you can work with them to make it easy for their customers. I say it’s the duty of the whole supply chain to shift the thinking from “I can’t garden” to “I can.”

Leave a Reply

More From Varieties...
Andropogon gerardii Blackhawks (Intrinsic Perennial Gardens)

April 25, 2017

Kelly Norris: Diversity is the Key to Growing the Ornamental Grass Market

Offering a selection of ornamental grasses that cater to customer needs will keep sales from stagnating.

Read More

April 25, 2017

41 New Vegetative Petunias From California Spring Trials 2017: Northern Sites

With the abundance of new introductions for the 2018 retail season, we’ve made it easier for you to sift through them by separating out the vegetative petunias from the Northern sites, which includes selections from Westhoff Flowers, Sakata Ornamentals, Danziger, Proven Winners, and Syngenta flowers.

Read More
Begonia Spectre Silver Terra Nova Nurseries

April 20, 2017

Terra Nova Nurseries Releases Two New, Attractive Begonia Varieties

Stardust is the latest addition to Terra Nova Nurseries’ existing T Rex Begonia series, and Silver is the first introduction to the company’s new Spectre Begonia series.

Read More
Latest Stories
Andropogon gerardii Blackhawks (Intrinsic Perennial Gardens)

April 25, 2017

Kelly Norris: Diversity is the Key to Growing the Ornam…

Offering a selection of ornamental grasses that cater to customer needs will keep sales from stagnating.

Read More

April 25, 2017

41 New Vegetative Petunias From California Spring Trial…

With the abundance of new introductions for the 2018 retail season, we’ve made it easier for you to sift through them by separating out the vegetative petunias from the Northern sites, which includes selections from Westhoff Flowers, Sakata Ornamentals, Danziger, Proven Winners, and Syngenta flowers.

Read More
Begonia Spectre Silver Terra Nova Nurseries

April 20, 2017

Terra Nova Nurseries Releases Two New, Attractive Begon…

Stardust is the latest addition to Terra Nova Nurseries’ existing T Rex Begonia series, and Silver is the first introduction to the company’s new Spectre Begonia series.

Read More

April 18, 2017

Cool Combos From CAST 2017 – Editor’s Choic…

With container gardening becoming more of a lifestyle among consumers than a trend, and breeders continuing to put more effort in container mixes and components, I feel I would be remiss if I didn't share some of the special combinations that not only caught my eye at California Spring Trials, but absolutely took my breath away and made me want to immediately get started gardening.

Read More
Danziger New Hires

April 16, 2017

Danziger Invests in Continued North American Business G…

As part of a new business structure for its North American market, Mike Fernandez has been appointed Market Manager North America for Bedding Plants and Perennials, and Kate Zvara was named as Key Account Manager and Retail Specialist.

Read More
Florida Flower Trials

April 12, 2017

Looking for Info on New Varieties for Hot Climates? Che…

The Florida Nursery Growers and Landscape Association’s Florida Flower Trials, which are focused on new and improved varieties able to thrive in the extremes of Florida’s climate, are a great opportunity to connect with national breeders.

Read More
Lupinus Staircase Series (Green Fuse Botanicals)

April 11, 2017

Begonias, Celosias Among Dr. Allan Armitage’s Favorites…

Check out some of Allan’s top picks from his final day at CAST 2017, which included visits to Green Fuse Botanicals and Floranova.

Read More
Rex Begonia container mix at Green Fuse Botanicals

April 11, 2017

Green Fuse Botanicals’ Rex Begonias and First Looks; Fl…

Here are the highlights from Green Fuse Botanicals and Floranova on the last day of CAST 2017.

Read More

April 7, 2017

Hort Couture Wows With Farm to Table; Florist Holland R…

On the last day for GroLink and the second to last for the Greenhouse Grower team, the wealth of genetics, marketing programs, and announcements were pleasing to our eyes, ears, and hearts.

Read More

April 7, 2017

California Spring Trials Day Five: Notable New Plant Va…

See some of the new varieties for 2018 displayed at Ball Horticultural and GroLink Plant Company on day five of California Spring Trials 2017.

Read More

April 7, 2017

PanAmerican Promotes Pentas, Plug-and-Play, and Veggies…

On Day 5 of the California Spring Trials, the Greenhouse Grower team hit the Southern California Trials and saw a multitude of new introductions and exciting programs.

Read More

April 7, 2017

CAST 2017: Musings of a California Spring Trials Rookie…

The number of opportunities presented to me are enough to make me rethink my location, but I still have a lot of big decisions to make for the future.

Read More

April 6, 2017

Dr. Allan Armitage’s Top Picks From Ball and GroL…

Here are Dr. Allan Armitage’s five variety picks, plus one display, from on Day 5 of CAST 2017.

Read More

April 6, 2017

Dümmen Orange Provides Retail Concepts; Terra Nova Offe…

Greenhouse Grower hit the Central Coast of California on our Day 4 of California Spring Trials, and what we saw was inspiring and exciting.

Read More

April 5, 2017

California Spring Trials Day Four: New Plant Intros fro…

The Greenhouse Grower team saw loads of memorable plants during day four, as it visited Dümmen Orange, Chisan Orchids, and Windmill Nursery. Dümmen had several notable introductions, including Wild Romance New Guinea impatiens in Blush Pink and White, which inspired the theme of its displays. One of the standout displays was its perennial combos with some new leucanthemum additions. Chisan Orchids in Los Alamos, CA, with Israeli breeders Hishtil, Jaldety, and Cohen Propagators, was a new stop on the route this year. Hishtil has a new gaura series out that includes a compact, low-growing variety, ‘Baby,’ with a mass of pink blooms. Cohen displayed Verbena ‘Mickey Red Rose,’ a unique bi-color that looks like a mixed combo, and Jaldety featured an interesting Cyperus prolifera. Windmill Nursery was the last stop of the day, with breeders Terra Nova Nurseries, Kientzler, J. Berry Nursery, and KiwiFlora. Terra Nova had several new heuchera for show, including ‘Onyx,’ which is a mounding, […]

Read More

April 5, 2017

CAST 2017: Musings of a California Spring Trials Rookie…

Set-aside all the varieties - I have come to the realization that being a grower is where I belong.

Read More

April 5, 2017

Dr. A’s Day Four Top Varieties for CAST 2017

Check out Dr. Allan Armitage's top five picks from visits to Dummen Orange, Chisan Orchids, and Windmill Nursery during day four of California Spring Trials 2017.

Read More

April 4, 2017

Dr. A’s Day Three Picks for CAST 2017

Take a look at Dr. Allan Armitage’s top five favorites from the American Takii, Sakata, and Floricultura stops during the 2017 California Spring Trials.

Read More