AmericanHort Selects Six Students As 2014 HortScholars

AmericanHort Selects Six Students As 2014 HortScholars

AmericanHort selected six students to serve as this year’s HortScholars.

The competitive application process identifies some of the industry’s brightest young professionals and helps to launch their careers in horticulture by providing education and networking opportunities. The goal of the HortScholars program is to provide students with an enriching professional development experience that increases their knowledge, industry awareness and career enthusiasm.


2014 HortScholars:
• Marie Arnold, The Ohio State University Agricultural Technical Institute
• Nicholas Flax, Iowa State University
• Jessica Kivett, Kansas State University
• Justin Kondrat, Cornell University
• Katie Nickolaus, Michigan State University
• James Sacco, University of Massachusetts Amherst

HortScholars will attend Cultivate’14 (July 12 to 15 in Columbus, Ohio) and receive complimentary Cultivate registration, lodging and meals. Additionally, they will receive a complimentary one-year AmericanHort membership.

At Cultivate’14, HortScholars will assist the Generation Next Community with events, conduct presentations that share their insight into industry issues, attend the exhibitions and educational sessions, meet with industry mentors and network at various social events.

More information on this year’s HortScholars, including biographies and photos, are available at AmericanHort’s website.

The HortScholars program is open to undergraduate and graduate students attending two- and four-year colleges and universities throughout the U.S. who are majoring in horticulture or a related field and have a minimum GPA of 3.0. Students must complete an online application and submit one faculty letter of recommendation. Up to six students are selected each year.

Source: AmericanHort