Get To Know The 9 Variety Finalists For Editor’s Choice And Industry’s Choice Awards

Get To Know The 9 Variety Finalists For Editor’s Choice And Industry’s Choice Awards

Greenhouse Grower‘s Evening Of Excellence reception is rapidly approaching. Here, you can learn more about the varieties that are finalists for the Medal Of Excellence Editor’s Choice and Industry’s Choice Breeding Awards. Thank you to the 2015 sponsors of Greenhouse Grower‘s Medal Of Excellence Awards, Landmark Plastic, Nufarm and Stockosorb.

Editor’s Choice
Asclepias ‘Monarch Promise’ (Hort Couture)
Basil ‘Balsamic Blooms’ (EuroAmerican Propagators)
Celosia ‘Dragon’s Breath’ (Sakata Seed)
Dianthus Jolt Series (PanAmerican Seed)
Salvia Grandstand Series (Green Fuse Botanicals)
Scabiosa ‘Kudos Pink’ (Hishtil Nurseries)


Industry’s Choice
Basil ‘Balsamic Blooms’ (EuroAmerican Propagators)
Bidens BeeDance Series (Suntory Flowers)
Celosia ‘Dragon’s Breath’ (Sakata Seed)
Dianthus Jolt Series (PanAmerican Seed)
Lobelia ‘Starship Deep Rose’ (Kieft Seed)
Vinca Valiant Series (PanAmerican Seed)



Join us Monday, July 13 in Ballroom 2 at the Columbus Convention Center to find out which varieties will receive the coveted awards. The reception begins at 5:15 p.m. and the ceremony starts promptly at 6:00 p.m.

Greenhouse Grower’s Medal of Excellence Awards has been the floriculture industry’s premier awards and recognition program for more than 25 years. Three awards are presented for Breeding, including the Editor’s Choice Award, chosen by Greenhouse Grower Editor Laura Drotleff; Industry’s Choice Award – based on a selection of varieties chosen by an industry panel during California Spring Trials; and Readers’ Choice, in which breeding companies submit varieties for readers to vote on their favorite new introduction.

Many thanks to Greenhouse Grower’s Industry’s Choice Panel for 2015:
The Metrolina Team: Abe Van Wingerden, Sim McMurry, Mark Yelanich
The Welby Gardens Team: Al Gerace, Marty Gerace, John Gerace, Mandy Foster, Victor Vargas, Elena Vargas
The Mast Young Plants Team: Jim Raterink, Laura Robles, Brian Weesies
The Raker Team: Susie Raker, Steve Reed, Greg Michalak
The Armstrong Team: James Russell, Heather Hydoski, Anthony Pytel, John Mellon
Vaughn Fletcher, McHutchison
Mike Duvall, The Home Depot
Tim Runte, Calloway Gardens
Dr. Allan Armitage, Professor Emeritus of Horticulture, University of Georgia
Laura Drotleff, Greenhouse Grower

Read about the 2015 finalists for Readers’ Choice Award, and let us know in the comments which of all of these varieties is your favorite!