Opinion: Impatiens Put To The Test

FloraPlant 'Patchwork Cosmic Orange' impatiens

Impatiens are probably done in Europe.

Those were the jaw-dropping words a long-time U.S. breeder shared with me at January’s IPM Essen. The breeder was referring specifically to the damage downy mildew did on Impatiens walleriana throughout Europe in 2011, wiping out landscapes and prompting some European retailers to avoid carrying the crop altogether this year.

It’s yet to be determined if impatiens are officially done in Europe, but the very thought begs questions about impatiens’ fate here in the United States. Just imagine a widespread downy mildew problem unfolding in your region. I’m not saying the disease will spread in the U.S. this year or in 2013 like it has in Europe. But the fact downy mildew was spotted on impatiens in top floriculture states like California, Illinois and New York, as Michigan State’s Mary Hausbeck reported last October, is cause for concern.

Consider the role impatiens play in U.S. floriculture and your business: Based on the 2010 Floriculture Crops Summary, no annual bedding plant was sold in flats more than impatiens (8,676,000) across USDA’s 15-state sample. Impatiens rank fourth in quantity sold among annual bedding plants in hanging baskets (2,338,000). They’re also fourth in the potted plants category (26,371,000) behind vegetative geraniums, pansies and petunias.

Think of the wholesale dollars tied to impatiens as well. According to USDA, growers earned an average of 77 cents on every container sold in 2010 that’s less than 5 inches. Growers earned $1.98 on average for impatiens produced in containers 5 inches or larger. If we experience what Europe has, where do those dollars go?

According to USDA, growers also sold a higher percentage of potted impatiens (97 percent) than every annual bedding plant the government tracks except marigolds and pansies. The high percentage is a reminder that impatiens are a sure-fire crop the market can bear millions of each year. But will the market bear impatiens if landscapes are wiped out and consumers feel they’ve been jipped? Could impatiens be done here, too?

A Look Ahead

If what my breeder source says about European impatiens is true, it’s logical to assume a rampant downy mildew spread in the U.S. is just as feasible. And it’s such logic that sparks a slew of questions, including: Is there a logical replacement to Impatiens walleriana?

New Guinea impatiens seem like an obvious choice, although at the moment they are not produced in flats at anywhere near the volume of impatiens. That rate could always change, but perhaps other annual bedding plant staples could take the place flats of impatiens have always occupied on benches. New Guinea production in hanging baskets and pots could ramp up, too, as a significant means to replace impatiens.

In the meantime, impatiens breeders are undoubtedly reexamining their programs and their ability to withstand downy mildew. With the California Spring Trials this month, I expect to see an assortment of new varieties of different genera bred specifically for disease resistance. In coming years,

I’d imagine we’ll also see a wave of New Guinea breeding, or products like Sakata’s SunPatiens that have already exhibited downy mildew resistance in the same European beds that wiped out Impatiens walleriana.

What’s to come this year for U.S. impatiens is anyone’s guess. The fact pathologists are promoting strategies to protect your impatiens signals you can beat downy mildew and keep the crop around. So take the precautionary steps in the greenhouse and hope for a warm or relatively dry spring that won’t harbor the disease.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: Impatiens Put To The Test

  1. This opinion piece was a month and half out of date by the time it appeared. The decimation of Florida's impatiens was obvious by mid-January, so be sure to revise the list of downy mildew sightings in "top floriculture states like California, Illinois and New York" to include the Sunshine State. And when downy mildew went virulent here in Palm Beach County, reputable growers and garden centers bagged their impatiens and enjoyed a bump in wax begonia sales. (FYI, Home Depot blithely continues to sell impatiens here.) We share the author's concern that New Guineas are not produced in flats in anywhere near the previous volume of impatiens. Betting that our overall take will be greater, we are willing to have 18- or probably better yet 15-cell flats contract grown for us, guessing that it won't cannibalize our established 1 gal New Guinea sales. I don't know what mechanism might save our northern colleagues from the season's impending Downy Mildew devastation there, but I hope they'llcan plan and navigate. Tim Whelan Art By Nature Garden Center Palm Beach Gardens, FL

  2. I now have this disease on my Impatiens in Chatham on Cape Cod. I understand that I must pull all infected plants and destroy them. The shame is that I had overwintered my Rosebuds and they were growing beautifully until now. Now, I will only have pictures to remember them by. I wish I had heard of this before. I never would have bought regular impatiens and mixed them with my Rosebuds.

More From Annuals...
Status of Marijuana US Map May 2015

May 29, 2015

Marijuana Legalization Updates

As of April 2015, 23 states and the District of Columbia (D.C.) currently have laws legalizing marijuana in some capacity. At the federal level, several bills are currently awaiting action. Here is an update on current state and federal marijuana legislation across the U.S.

Read More
cannabis, marijuana plant

May 29, 2015

Making The Decision To Produce Medical Marijuana

Should horticultural growers consider cultivating medical marijuana? That’s up to the individual grower, of course, and certainly a number of growers already have jumped in. We at Meister Media Worldwide, publishers of Greenhouse Grower and American Vegetable Grower, do not necessarily endorse nor oppose the production of medical marijuana. But we do feel it is an option worth exploring. We intend our “Medical Marijuana” series of articles to give you information you need to make your own call. We hope you find it useful, and we do welcome your comments, thoughts and ideas as we continue to cover what we’re fairly certain is only going to be an increasingly viable and growing market for this emerging crop.

Read More
Double Whammy Merchandise Display At CAST2015

May 28, 2015

Grow Inspiration To Grow The Horticulture Industry

We need to work together as the horticulture industry to inspire and instruct consumers with our plant knowledge and marketing expertise.

Read More
Latest Stories
Medal of Excellence Award

May 27, 2015

Vote For Your Favorite New Annual For The 2015 Readers&…

VOTING IS NOW OPEN FOR: ANNUALS It’s time for you, our readers, to decide which variety is picked as the best new introduction in 2015. We’ve expanded our Readers’ Choice program to include a wider variety of plants. Breeders have entered their best varieties by category and the winners will advance as finalists to face off to win the Readers’ Choice Award. Categories are Annuals, Perennials, Edibles and the Best of the Rest. Finalists will be announced in June and the Readers’ Choice winner will be announced July 13 at Greenhouse Grower’s prestigious Evening Of Excellence event at Cultivate’15. Which annual is the most promising introduction? Vote here now! Thanks to our 2015 Medal Of Excellence sponsors, Landmark Plastics and Stockosorb by Evonik. Readers’ Choice Voting Schedule: Annuals – May 22 to May 28 (closes at 12 a.m. EST) Perennials – May 29 to June 4 (closes at 12 a.m. EST) Edibles – […]

Read More
Salvia 'Ember's Wish'

March 11, 2015

Annual Salvias – Not Just Red Bedding Plants Anym…

Salvias are popular — and they need not all be the same. Here are a few you know well, and perhaps a few you do not. All are easy to grow and may be found through a broker or grower.

Read More

February 18, 2015

California Spring Trials Sneak Peek: New Annuals For 20…

If you're like us and you can't wait until the 2015 California Spring Trials to see some of the new genetics that will be hitting the market in 2016, never fear. We contacted the breeders who will be displaying their new varieties in California in April, and they gave us a sneak peek. Check out our slideshow to see some of the new annuals making their debut to the trade this spring.

Read More

November 14, 2014

First Vegetatively Propagated All-America Selections (A…

All-America Selections (AAS) honors two vegetatively propagated impatiens with AAS winner status.

Read More

October 13, 2014

Growing Tips For Verbena

Rich Schoellhorn, product manager at Proven Winners, shares some tips for growing verbenas successfully.

Read More

October 13, 2014

Greenhouse Grower 2014 New Varieties Guide: Petunias [S…

Greenhouse Grower asked more than 40 breeders to send photos of new introductions they think are worth your attention. The result is the 2014 New Varieties Guide. See what petunias made the cut.

Read More

June 12, 2014

New Begonia Variety And Coleus Series, Plus Two Lobelia…

Terra Nova Nurseries introduces seven new varieties and one new series.

Read More

May 27, 2014

Two New Salvias Added To Southern Living Plant Collecti…

Two new salvia varieties are now available exclusively to growers from the Southern Living Plant Collection and Sunset Western Garden Collection.

Read More

May 9, 2014

New Petunias Making Their Debut In 2015

Take a look at the new petunia varieties that will be making their appearance in 2015.

Read More

April 23, 2014

Foliage Begonias May Be A Big 2015 Trend [Spring Trials…

A number of breeders debuted their rex begonia and begonia hybrid lines at 2014 Spring Trials.

Read More
Petunia 'Success Violet' from Benary

April 11, 2014

What’s New With Petunias For 2014? [Slideshow]

Breeders are rolling out great new petunia introductions for 2014. Take a look at the variety of petunias they have to offer.

Read More
Verbena 'Superbena Royale Whitecap' from Proven Winners

November 11, 2013

Three New Verbena Superbena Introductions From Proven W…

Three new varieties have joined the verbena Superbena line-up this year: 'Superbena Royale Plum Wine,' 'Superbena Royale Whitecap' and 'Superbena Violet Ice.'

Read More
Calibrachoa 'Mini Famous Double Blue' from Selecta

October 17, 2013

6 New Calibrachoa For 2013

Check out these lovely new introductions in calibrachoa.

Read More

October 10, 2013

Begonia ‘Silhouette Lemon Rose’ Doubles The Bloo…

Begonia ‘Silhouette Lemon Rose’ is a striking begonia hybrid with phenomenal basal and lateral branching. Plant sterility gives maximum continual flowering throughout the season with double the bloom number of a traditional non-stop begonia. Dark mahogany foliage with contrasting emerald green veining provides a dramatic contrast to the soft lemon yellow 1.5- to 2-inch diameter blooms that blush apple blossom pink in high light. This easy-care beauty is ideal for mixed pots and containers, hanging baskets or the summer border. For more information, visit PlantHaven.com

Read More
Petunia 'Flash Mob Bluerific' Burpee Home Gardens

October 7, 2013

18 New Petunias To Add For 2014

Tried and true, petunias are a garden staple. Here are some new introductions breeders are rolling out for your consideration in 2014.  

Read More
Verbena 'Hurricane Hot Pink' from Westflowers

October 7, 2013

New Verbena For 2014

Check out these eight new verbena varieties and consider them for your 2014 greenhouse production.  

Read More
Dahlia Dalaya Shari from Selecta

September 25, 2013

4 New Dahlias For Your 2014 Season

Looking for new dahlia varieties to incorporate in your crop mix? Here are 4 beauties your customers will love.  

Read More
'Wall Street' Coleus from Dummen/Red Fox

September 25, 2013

4 Colorful New Coleus For 2014

Gorgeous foliage makes these new introductions must-haves for next year.  

Read More