Opinion: Impatiens Put To The Test

FloraPlant 'Patchwork Cosmic Orange' impatiens

Impatiens are probably done in Europe.

Those were the jaw-dropping words a long-time U.S. breeder shared with me at January’s IPM Essen. The breeder was referring specifically to the damage downy mildew did on Impatiens walleriana throughout Europe in 2011, wiping out landscapes and prompting some European retailers to avoid carrying the crop altogether this year.

It’s yet to be determined if impatiens are officially done in Europe, but the very thought begs questions about impatiens’ fate here in the United States. Just imagine a widespread downy mildew problem unfolding in your region. I’m not saying the disease will spread in the U.S. this year or in 2013 like it has in Europe. But the fact downy mildew was spotted on impatiens in top floriculture states like California, Illinois and New York, as Michigan State’s Mary Hausbeck reported last October, is cause for concern.

Consider the role impatiens play in U.S. floriculture and your business: Based on the 2010 Floriculture Crops Summary, no annual bedding plant was sold in flats more than impatiens (8,676,000) across USDA’s 15-state sample. Impatiens rank fourth in quantity sold among annual bedding plants in hanging baskets (2,338,000). They’re also fourth in the potted plants category (26,371,000) behind vegetative geraniums, pansies and petunias.

Think of the wholesale dollars tied to impatiens as well. According to USDA, growers earned an average of 77 cents on every container sold in 2010 that’s less than 5 inches. Growers earned $1.98 on average for impatiens produced in containers 5 inches or larger. If we experience what Europe has, where do those dollars go?

According to USDA, growers also sold a higher percentage of potted impatiens (97 percent) than every annual bedding plant the government tracks except marigolds and pansies. The high percentage is a reminder that impatiens are a sure-fire crop the market can bear millions of each year. But will the market bear impatiens if landscapes are wiped out and consumers feel they’ve been jipped? Could impatiens be done here, too?

A Look Ahead

If what my breeder source says about European impatiens is true, it’s logical to assume a rampant downy mildew spread in the U.S. is just as feasible. And it’s such logic that sparks a slew of questions, including: Is there a logical replacement to Impatiens walleriana?

New Guinea impatiens seem like an obvious choice, although at the moment they are not produced in flats at anywhere near the volume of impatiens. That rate could always change, but perhaps other annual bedding plant staples could take the place flats of impatiens have always occupied on benches. New Guinea production in hanging baskets and pots could ramp up, too, as a significant means to replace impatiens.

In the meantime, impatiens breeders are undoubtedly reexamining their programs and their ability to withstand downy mildew. With the California Spring Trials this month, I expect to see an assortment of new varieties of different genera bred specifically for disease resistance. In coming years,

I’d imagine we’ll also see a wave of New Guinea breeding, or products like Sakata’s SunPatiens that have already exhibited downy mildew resistance in the same European beds that wiped out Impatiens walleriana.

What’s to come this year for U.S. impatiens is anyone’s guess. The fact pathologists are promoting strategies to protect your impatiens signals you can beat downy mildew and keep the crop around. So take the precautionary steps in the greenhouse and hope for a warm or relatively dry spring that won’t harbor the disease.

Leave a Reply

2 comments on “Opinion: Impatiens Put To The Test

  1. This opinion piece was a month and half out of date by the time it appeared. The decimation of Florida's impatiens was obvious by mid-January, so be sure to revise the list of downy mildew sightings in "top floriculture states like California, Illinois and New York" to include the Sunshine State. And when downy mildew went virulent here in Palm Beach County, reputable growers and garden centers bagged their impatiens and enjoyed a bump in wax begonia sales. (FYI, Home Depot blithely continues to sell impatiens here.) We share the author's concern that New Guineas are not produced in flats in anywhere near the previous volume of impatiens. Betting that our overall take will be greater, we are willing to have 18- or probably better yet 15-cell flats contract grown for us, guessing that it won't cannibalize our established 1 gal New Guinea sales. I don't know what mechanism might save our northern colleagues from the season's impending Downy Mildew devastation there, but I hope they'llcan plan and navigate. Tim Whelan Art By Nature Garden Center Palm Beach Gardens, FL

  2. I now have this disease on my Impatiens in Chatham on Cape Cod. I understand that I must pull all infected plants and destroy them. The shame is that I had overwintered my Rosebuds and they were growing beautifully until now. Now, I will only have pictures to remember them by. I wish I had heard of this before. I never would have bought regular impatiens and mixed them with my Rosebuds.

More From Annuals...
Pleasant View Gardens Savor Edibles

July 22, 2016

Pleasant View Gardens Targets Millennials With Savor Edibles

Taking something as ubiquitous as vegetables and herbs and giving it a fresh new look is no easy task, but Pleasant View Gardens took on the challenge with extensive research and creative marketing.

Read More
Dummen New Columbus Office

July 21, 2016

Dümmen Orange Opens New North American Headquarters In Columbus, OH

The new office, which officially opened during Cultivate’16, supports the company’s vision to be integrated into a vibrant and inspiring community, and provides a bright, modern workspace for its approximately 30 local employees.

Read More
Pollen Free Lisianthus

July 20, 2016

Sakata Seed Develops World’s First Pollen-Free Lisianthus

With no stamen to produce pollen, the new Lisianthus varieties have improved flower durability and the benefit of no scattered pollen that can cause staining of flowers and machines.

Read More
Latest Stories
NGI-SunPatiens-Compact-Hot-Coral-Sakata

March 23, 2016

P. Allen Smith Says SunPatiens Are Hero Plants For Cons…

Plants that ensure consumer success with disease resistance bred into their genetics, and ease of use in a variety of conditions, are heroes for gardeners, especially beginners, and they should be celebrated and supported to promote gardening success and interest. These are the messages the award-winning designer, gardening, and lifestyle expert P. Allen Smith wants the horticulture industry to know, with the recent announcement of his expanded partnership with Sakata Seed. In an exclusive interview with Greenhouse Grower, P. Allen Smith describes his expanded partnership with Sakata Seed to promote SunPatiens and why the now 10-year-old series helps both novice and expert gardeners to be successful. Smith also collaborates with Sakata to promote the HomeGrown Collection of vegetables. SunPatiens Set Consumers Up For Success, Smith Says As a plantsman first, Smith has extensively trialed SunPatiens in his gardens at Moss Mountain Farm in Little Rock, AR, and says he is […]

Read More

March 15, 2016

California Spring Trials Central Region Preview: More N…

Spring is finally here, and you can draw inspiration from the hundreds of new varieties you’ll see at California Spring Trials (CAST) 2016. The annual exodus to the West Coast is coming up, but before you hit the trail, check out the slideshow below to see some of the new annuals making their debut to the trade this spring. Because so many annuals are revealed at CAST, we had to build two slideshows — one for the Northern Region and one for the Central Region. Last week’s focus was on the Northern Region, but this week we’re highlighting annuals that will be showcased in the Central Region. We asked breeders to share with us pictures and information on some of the great new annuals introductions they will debut at CAST 2016. They didn’t let you down. These new annuals introductions have all the great characteristics you’ve come to rely on from breeders — excellent […]

Read More

March 9, 2016

Get A Glimpse At New Annuals For 2017, Debuting At Cali…

California Spring Trials (CAST) is coming up, but before you hit the trail, here’s your chance for a glimpse at the new annuals that will be hitting the market in 2017. We asked breeders to share with us pictures and information on some of the great new annuals introductions they will debut at CAST 2016. They didn’t let you down. These new annuals introductions have all the great characteristics you’ve come to rely on from breeders — excellent branching, good uniformity, flower power, and most important, long-lasting garden performance. Check out the slideshow below to see some of the new annuals making their debut to the trade this spring. And because so many annuals are revealed at CAST, we had to build two slideshows – one for the Northern Region and one for the Central Region. This week we’ll focus on the Northern Region, but stay tuned for the Central […]

Read More

November 6, 2015

Greenhouse Production Tips For A Successful Spring Pans…

Following good, methodical growing practices from start to finish will produce a pansy crop that is not only green and healthy, but well-toned and able to withstand the potential extreme temperature and weather conditions of spring bedding crops.

Read More
Dahlia1

October 12, 2015

Dahlia Production Tips For High Quality Greenhouse Plan…

We are beginning to see a new generation of dahlia breeding where emphasis is moving back to staggered blooming and improved disease tolerance. Here are some tips for greenhouse production that will get your dahlias off to a strong start.

Read More
WavePetunias-GrowIt_contest_featured

June 18, 2015

Wave Petunias Sponsors Photo Contest Through GrowIt! Ga…

The gardening season is heating up and the Wave Petunias Team wants to see the #WildestWave. The popular plant brand has joined forces with the GrowIt! Garden Socially app to host a two week contest in June that encourages Wave Fans to share and rate photos of their favorite Wave Petunias. The grand prize is a $100 gift card to the garden center of the winner’s choosing. “We are excited to work with GrowIt! and see our Wave Petunias tagged in cities from coast to coast,” says Claire Watson, brand manager for Wave. “Seeing gardeners’ creative photography, awarding a winner, and learning what each region likes about Wave Petunias will be extremely useful as we further promote our ‘Wow ’em With Wave’ ad campaign this season.” Gardeners can place an entry into the contest by downloading GrowIt!, filling out a profile, and uploading photos of Wave Petunias. Placing the tag #WildestWave in the photo’s comments section […]

Read More
Salvia 'Ember's Wish'

March 11, 2015

Annual Salvias – Not Just Red Bedding Plants Anym…

Salvias are popular — and they need not all be the same. Here are a few you know well, and perhaps a few you do not. All are easy to grow and may be found through a broker or grower.

Read More

February 18, 2015

New Annuals For 2016 From California Spring Trials

California Spring Trials (CAST) is long past for 2015, but you still have the chance to see the new genetics that will be hitting the market in 2016. We asked breeders to share with us pictures and information on some of the great new annuals introductions they shared at CAST, so we could share them with you.

Read More

November 14, 2014

First Vegetatively Propagated All-America Selections (A…

All-America Selections (AAS) honors two vegetatively propagated impatiens with AAS winner status.

Read More

October 13, 2014

Growing Tips For Verbena

Rich Schoellhorn, product manager at Proven Winners, shares some tips for growing verbenas successfully.

Read More

October 13, 2014

Greenhouse Grower 2014 New Varieties Guide: Petunias [S…

Greenhouse Grower asked more than 40 breeders to send photos of new introductions they think are worth your attention. The result is the 2014 New Varieties Guide. See what petunias made the cut.

Read More

June 12, 2014

New Begonia Variety And Coleus Series, Plus Two Lobelia…

Terra Nova Nurseries introduces seven new varieties and one new series.

Read More

May 27, 2014

Two New Salvias Added To Southern Living Plant Collecti…

Two new salvia varieties are now available exclusively to growers from the Southern Living Plant Collection and Sunset Western Garden Collection.

Read More

May 9, 2014

New Petunias Making Their Debut In 2015

Take a look at the new petunia varieties that will be making their appearance in 2015.

Read More

April 23, 2014

Foliage Begonias May Be A Big 2015 Trend [Spring Trials…

A number of breeders debuted their rex begonia and begonia hybrid lines at 2014 Spring Trials.

Read More
Petunia 'Success Violet' from Benary

April 11, 2014

What’s New With Petunias For 2014? [Slideshow]

Breeders are rolling out great new petunia introductions for 2014. Take a look at the variety of petunias they have to offer.

Read More
Verbena 'Superbena Royale Whitecap' from Proven Winners

November 11, 2013

Three New Verbena Superbena Introductions From Proven W…

Three new varieties have joined the verbena Superbena line-up this year: 'Superbena Royale Plum Wine,' 'Superbena Royale Whitecap' and 'Superbena Violet Ice.'

Read More
Calibrachoa 'Mini Famous Double Blue' from Selecta

October 17, 2013

6 New Calibrachoa For 2013

Check out these lovely new introductions in calibrachoa.

Read More
[gravityform id="35" title="false" description="false"]