Greenhouse Grower Thrilled To Honor 2014 Medal of Excellence Winners

Greenhouse Grower announced its Medal of Excellence winners at the Evening of Excellence, held Monday, July 14 in Columbus, Ohio, at Cultivate’14. Check out the breeders, growers and new varieties that earned the Medal of Excellence awards for 2014.



Leave a Reply

5 comments on “Greenhouse Grower Thrilled To Honor 2014 Medal of Excellence Winners

  1. Sorry I missed the event this year! I’m curious what plant won the Medal of Excellence in the Perennial Category?

    1. Salvia ‘Blue Marvel’ won the perennial category. The winners of the perennial, annuals and Best of the Rest categories then go head-to-head as finalists. Calibracho Kabloom Series from PanAmerican Seed was the overall winner.

  2. I have to laugh each time i hear that ‘Endless Summer’ wins something….They sure did market the hell out of the plant…then had to come out with two different Fertilizers when they realized it would bloom pink or blue instead of just blue…now 5-8 years in we’re seeing people rip them out by the dozens as they suffer severe winter kill here in Maine..and are a dog of a plant….

    As for the Kabloom Calibrachoas…I’d be willing to try them as the Proven Winners Calibrachoa’s are also dogs…bad growth…necrotic foliage…(i’ve never used so much Iron Chelate on a plant)…

    As for Dan Heims plants…well they just don’t do here in Maine….rot…attractive to Black Vine Weevil and short lived…just not worth offering anymore….so they were dropped…the same for the Heucherellas… just can’t get them to live more than 2 years maximum.

  3. I have to laugh each time i hear about some rave review of ‘Endless Summer’….an award for the over the top marketing of a horrid plant? wow…..Here in Maine they bloom pink or blue depending on the soil…maybe that’s why they had to come out with two different fertilizers…they don’t do well at all here in Maine….rarely blooming to the point customers are ripping them out.

    I’d be interested in the Kabloom Callibrachoa’s….they have to be better than anything Proven Winners has to offer.

    Terra Nova has beautiful stuff….unfortunately it has a life of 1-2 years here in Maine due to death by root rot or Black Vine weevil….have given up on all Terra Nova cultivars as well as their Heucherella’s…

More From Grower of the Year...
Sheridan Nurseries

September 3, 2015

Greenhouse Grower’s 2015 Operation Of The Year Sheridan Nurseries Raises The Bar

Ontario-based Sheridan Nurseries has long been an innovator in the Canadian market, but during the economic downturn, CEO Karl Stensson says the company decided to take things a step further. “We have survived the Great Depression, two World Wars and many other downturns in the economy,” he says. “During this last recession, our staff set out at being the best at what we do.” The company’s efforts have paid off. Sheridan Nurseries was named Operation of the Year at Greenhouse Grower’s Evening of Excellence, held July 13, at Cultivate’15 in Columbus, Ohio. The company was also awarded for Excellence In Perennials Production, based on its reputation for plant quality and the activities the nursery has led and been a part of, both within its company and in the industry at large. “We are elated and proud of our staff accomplishments,” says CEO Karl Stensson. “Over the last five years, we […]

Read More
Greenhouse Grower’s 2015 Head Grower Of The Year Tom Wheeler - Feature image

September 1, 2015

Bell Nursery USA Cultivates New Growers Through Internships

Bell Nursery USA started its internship program two years ago with the aim of identifying and training the growers of the future. Each season, the company’s internships give interns a broad overview of the company, exposing them to everything from growing and production to distribution, retail and finances.

Read More
Tom Wheeler, Bell Nursery USA

July 15, 2015

Tom Wheeler Of Bell Nursery Named Greenhouse Grower’s 2015 Grower Of The Year

Tom Wheeler of Bell Nursery is Greenhouse Grower's Head Grower of the Year for 2015. His leadership on a company level and throughout the industry and his willingness to share his knowledge to help others makes him a worthy recipient for this reward.

Read More