Industry’s Choice Best New Plant Variety Finalists Announced for 2019

Greenhouse Grower‘s Medal Of Excellence has become one of the premier recognition programs of plant breeding excellence. The Industry’s Choice for Best New Variety award is selected by a panel of industry members who attend California Spring Trials and see the new plant introductions in person.

Special thanks goes to this year’s panelists:


The Metrolina Team: Abe Van Wingerden, Sim McMurry, Mark Yelanich

The Welby Gardens Team: Al Gerace, John Gerace, Dan Gerace, Mandy Gerace

The Mast Young Plants Team: Jim Raterink, Brian Weesies

The Raker-Roberta’s Team: Steve Reed, Jenny Kuhn, Kelly Staats, Susie Raker-Zimmerman

Dr. Allan Armitage, Professor Emeritus of Horticulture, University of Georgia, Greenhouse Grower

Janeen Wright, Greenhouse Grower

See the slideshow above for the new varieties nominated as the Industry’s Choice finalists for 2019, and join us for Greenhouse Grower’s Medal of Excellence Evening on Monday, July 15 at Cultivate’19 to find out which variety is the overall winner.

Special thanks to our title sponsor Multi-Packaging Solutions – WestRock.