Central Coast Greenhouse Growers Association Awards 2015 Scholarships

Central Coast Greenhouse Growers Association Awards 2015 Scholarships

The Central Coast Greenhouse Growers Association (CCGGA) is awarding 20 scholarships this year to high school and college students. CCGGA-member nurseries raised money for the scholarship fund and each donated a portion of the fundraising sales to the fund, which is open to students currently enrolled in college for the following year. The scholarship program is also available to students of employees who work at CCGGA-member nurseries

One of the organization’s goals is to continue encouraging future generations to enter the horticulture field and to promote higher education within the families that work in the local nursery business.


The 2015 CCGGA scholarship recipients are:

  • Aloysia Shea – Nipomo High School
  • Andrew McHaney – CSalinas High School
  • Angel Flores – Righetti High School
  • Beatriz Barajas – San Jose State University
  • Carolanne Garibay – Monterey Peninsula College
  • Cladia Lavina – Salinas High School
  • Erica Marquez-Ibarra – San Jose State University
  • Jorge Zarate – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Jynel Gularte – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Katie Blakeley – Perrin High School
  • Kirk Wilenius – Loyola Marymount University
  • Lane Luis – Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo
  • Levi Luis – Santa Ynez Union High School
  • Mary Katherine Sherman – Valley Central High School
  • Nelly Guerra – Allan Hancock College
  • Shaina Chirman – University of Wyoming
  • Thor Burnside – Rogers State University
  • Timmy Klittich – Fillmore High School
  • Trevor J. Autry – Nipomo High School
  • Yuliana Carrillo – Cal State Fullerton

One of the scholarships is named with the local sponsors for the event: Andrew McHaney, who currently attends Salinas High School, was named the winner of the Rabobank/CCGGA Scholarship. For more information, visit CCGGA’s website.