Costa Farms Named International Grower Of The Year

Costa Farms Named International Grower Of The Year

Costa FarmsCosta Farms was the night’s biggest winner during an awards gala presented by the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) and held at IPM Essen in Germany. (Read more about the business culture that’s driven Costa’s success in Greenhouse Grower’s January 2016 feature story.) The Florida-based grower was named the International Grower Of The Year, and was chosen from a group that included eight other international companies.

“This award is a reflection of our entire team, and we are all dedicated to being the best at what we do and making this company successful for the long term,” said Jose Costa, Executive Vice President of Costa’s foliage division.


The AIPH awarded gold, silver, and bronze awards in three categories — Finished Plants And Trees, Young Plants, and Cut Flowers — prior to naming the big winner. Costa was the gold winner in the Finished Plants and Trees Category. Each of the category winners (Florensis of Germany/The Netherlands for Young Plants and Arcadia Chrysanten of The Netherlands for Cut Flowers) were then judged for the final and most prestigious award: the coveted Gold Rose, awarding the winner the global status of AIPH International Grower of the Year.

Ornamental growers from Canada, China, Germany, Netherlands, Turkey, UK and USA were all finalists, receiving the following awards:

Finished Plants And Trees
· Gold – Costa Farms, USA
· Silver – Majestic Trees, UK
· Bronze – Dashun International Flower, China
· Bronze – Dutchmaster Nurseries, Canada

Cut Flowers
· Gold – Arcadia Chrysanten, Netherlands
· Silver – Flash Tarim Urunleri (Flash Flowers), Turkey

Young Plants
· Gold – Florensis, Germany/Netherlands
· Silver – Kunming Hongzhihua Gardening, China
· Bronze – Shanghai Yuanyi Seedling, China

AIPH President, Bernard Oosterom, said: “Tonight has been a wonderful celebration of the best of our industry. I would like to offer my congratulations to Costa Farms and all the winners of these awards.”