FNGLA Reveals 2011 Industry Award Winners

FNGLA Reveals 2011 Industry Award Winners

Each year, the Florida Nursery, Growers and Landscape Association (FNGLA) honors a distinct group of individuals who contribute time and energy to enhance, protect and serve Florida’s nursery and landscape industry through the FNGLA Industry Awards Program.

FNGLA’s Industry Awards program acknowledges both FNGLA and industry service, with varying criteria for each award. Nominations are accepted from the industry-at-large and winners are selected by a committee of industry peers.


The Wendell E. Butler Award and the FNGLA Hall of Fame are recognized as the most prestigious awards given by FNGLA. The Wendell E. Butler Award is given for service to FNGLA and the FNGLA Hall of Fame Award is a lifetime achievement award.

Winners of all awards will be recognized at the FNGLA Annual Convention June 25 at the LaPlaya Beach and Golf Resort in Naples, Fla. The 2011 winners are:

Outstanding Chapter President
Joey Quinn
Quinntessence Nursery
Royal Palm Beach, Fla.

Outstanding Chapter Treasurer
Judy Leiby, FCHP
Cherry Lake Tree Farm
Groveland, Fla.

Outstanding Chapter Secretary
Jamie Ross
The Potting Bench
Jacksonville, Fla.

Outstanding Volunteer
Cindy Hall
Cap Stone Industries of Florida
Jensen Beach, Fla.

Outstanding Educator
Dr. Michael Orfanedes
Broward County Extension–South
Davie, Fla.

Friend Of The Industry
Dr. Terril Nell
University of Florida / Environmental Horticulture
Gainesville, Fla.

Farm Credit/FNGLA Young Nursery Professional Of The Year
Jennifer Parrish, FCHP
Farm Credit of Central Florida
Apopka, Fla.

Wendell E. Butler Award
Sylvia Gordon
Landscape by Sylvia Gordon
Miami, Fla.

FNGLA Hall Of Fame
Jim Knox
Knox Nursery
Windermere, Fla.

Joseph Shaw
Shaw Nursery & Landscape Co.
Miami, Fla.

Learn more about FNGLA online at www.fngla.org.